AGU 2019 session: "Critical Zone: from natural to social sciences"

Article Type: 
Start Date: 
Monday, July 8, 2019 - 09:30 to Wednesday, July 31, 2019 - 09:30

Dear colleagues, For the next AGU, in San Fransisco, December 9-13, we are pleased to announce that our session "Critical Zone: from natural to social sciences" has been accepted. This is the first time AGU is encouraging a session in which geological and ecological sciences will exchange with social sciences on the object "Critical Zone". We will be delighted to welcome Anna Tsing (UC Santa Cruz, USA), Lesley Green (University of Cape Town, South Africa) and Sue Brantley (Penn State, USA) as invited speakers.

Please consider submitting an abstract to this promising session and attending it. Kindly distribute this announcement to colleagues and networks that might be interested.

Let's make this event a wonderful AGU moment! See you in SF.

Best regards,
Jérôme Gaillardet, Steve Banwart, Anna Krzywoszynska, Bruno Latour.

Session Title:
PA017. Critical Zone Science: from natural to social sciences
Session ID: 81739
Session Description: The term Critical Zone is used by Earth Scientist to designate the thin surface of the Earth which supports most of human and ecological life on the planet. It is extending from the non weathered rocks to the lower atmosphere, has been created and transformed by the solar energy and a complex set of reactions involving living organisms. The word “critical” underlines the fragility of this thin surface its importance for the politics of nature in the Anthropocene, for social sciences in general, economy and art. In this session, we wish to encourage collaboration between natural and social sciences by focusing on the Critical Zone as a meeting place for different forms of knowledge and action. The session aims at sharing different visions of, engagements with, and representations of the Critical Zone to help illustrate how humans and non humans agencies are connected in the CZ.

Convenors : 
Jérôme Gaillardet, Institut de Physique du Globe de Paris, Université de Paris.
Steve Banwart, University of Leeds
Bruno Latour, Science Po, Paris
Anna Krzywoszynska, University of Sheffield

Group content visibility: 
Public - accessible to all site users